Trans Geek Girl Meets Mundane World

Supreme Court declines to hear “Don’t Ask” challenge.

I’ve been a vocal advocate for gay rights (including getting rid of the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy, under which able men and women are being discharged, not for conduct but simply for letting slip a personal fact about themselves).

I hate the whole tone of the debate, which assumes 1) anybody who supports gay rights is gay, and 2) anybody who’s gay is a crazed flaming stereotype whose orientation may be contagious.

On the first point, in every civil rights dispute since slavery, there have been members of the majority who stood up and supported the minority, for no better or worse reason than it was the right thing to do (case in point: the Freedom Riders of the sixties). There are men who are feminists, rich people who advocate for the homeless, and straights who support rights for gays. Don’t assume.

As to the second point, I have over the years met a large number of gay men and women, and they all have one thing in common — none of them is exactly like any other. They are as diverse as any other collection of human beings. And yes, like any other group, there are some members who are outspoken to the point of being obnoxious.

There are also people who are passionate about the virtues of the humble onion. I detest onions. The thought of biting into an onion makes me cringe, and I get the shudders watching other people eat onions. I can’t help it, I was born this way. I order things without onions, or pick the onions out. But I don’t demand that onions be outlawed, onion eaters be confined to a separate dining area, nobody talk about onions, or that people who like onions be discharged from the military on the basis that they are, by their very presence, bad for the morale of onion-haters. 

I also don’t much care whether ancient Hebrew law declared onions an abomination, right under pork and shellfish and before cotton/polyester blends. Interesting, but not relevant.

So I speak up for gay rights. And I hang out with onion-lovers. And I don’t have to be a member of either group to accept and appreciate them as fellow human beings.

Leave a Reply

